Awards Given by the Department of Biology

Joanne Westin Distinguished Graduate Student Teaching Award

In 2010, the Department of Biology formally established the Joanne Westin Distinguished Graduate Student Teaching Award. The Westin Award is presented annually to a graduate student in the Department of Biology who has demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching.

The award is established in honor of Dr. Joanne Westin, a distinguished member of the faculty in the Department of Biology from 1977 to 2008.  During her tenure at CWRU, Dr. Westin taught a variety of Biology courses as well as served as a mentor for numerous graduate student teaching assistants.  Over the years, her skillful teaching and supervision has touched the lives of many in the Case Western Reserve Community.

The Westin Award signifies how much we in The Department of Biology truly value the hard work and effort our graduate student instructors dedicate to their teaching assignments.

Winner:  Ellyn Evans

J. Paul Vissher Award of the Cleveland Audubon Society

Winner: Will Huffmyer

Outstanding Paper Award

Winner: Russell Engleman

Awards given by the College of Arts & Sciences

Eva L. Pancoast Memorial Fellowships

Winner: Angie Lenard

Winner: Jacqui Yarman

Awards given by the School of Graduate Studies

Graduate Dean’s Instructional Excellence Award

Winner: Ellyn Evans

Lenore A. Kola Graduate Student Community Service Award

Winner: Ellyn Evans

Awards given by the Center for International Affairs

Unsung Champion International Student Award

Winner: Swara Yadav