Undergraduate Awards 2022

The Department of Biology wishes to congratulate the following students for winning the following awards. Stay tuned for more information as we highlight the winners.

2022 Undergraduate Award winners

The Russell M. Lawall Prize in Biological Sciences, for excellence in biology.

Winner: Emily Belina

Emily graduated this year with a Bachelor of Science in Biology and a Bachelor of Arts in Art History. Next year, she will be at the University of Mainz in Germany on a Fulbright scholarship, researching cilia function in inherited retinal disorders. The following year, she will be returning to Cleveland as part of the CWRU School of Medicine’s class of 2023.

The Francis Hobart Herrick Prize, for outstanding biological research and academic excellence in biology.

Winner: Alyssa Magliaro

Alyssa graduated this Spring with a Bachelors of Science degree in Systems Biology with minors in Art Studio, Environmental Science, and Mathematics. This summer she will be working with the Southern Sierra Research Station to conduct surveys of the federally endangered Yellow-Billed Cuckoo in southeastern Arizona. She will then go to work at Billy Frank Jr. Nisqually Wildlife Refuge in Olympia, Washington as an Environmental Education Coordinator through AmeriCorps. According to Alyssa, “I hope to continue to work in wildlife conservation in whatever capacity I can for the rest of my life.”



The Ralph A. Spengler, Jr. Award, for excellence in plant science.

Winner: Danielle Sirivat

Next year, Danielle will attend the joint doctoral program in ecology at San Diego State University and UC Davis. As a part of the Global Change Research Group, she will study plant systems and their interactions with greenhouse gases. Danielle will start her research work this summer in the Arctic and Thailand.

Michelson Morley Research Competition in the Biological Sciences

1st prize: Anish Reddy

Anish will be taking a gap year working with the non-profit organization Create Circles (that addresses health inequities primarily in nursing home care) while applying to medical school. He has enjoyed his research experiences with Dr. Sarah Bagby’s lab and encourages everyone to get involved with microbial ecology research! He states that his lab experiences have not only developed his skills in biology, but have also pushed him to become a more confident, communicative, and well-rounded individual.









2nd prize Danielle Sirivat

Danielle also won the Ralph A. Spengler, Jr. Award, for excellence in plant science this year. She promises to send the department pictures from her upcoming research in Thailand and the Artic.









3rd prize Shruti Narayan

Shruti will be taking a gap year working in clinical research before going to med school.

The Daniel Burke Prize, for excellence in both biology and chemistry.

Winner: Nisha Busch

Nisha graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Neuroscience with minors in Chemistry and Human Nutrition. After graduating, Nisha will attend medical school at Drexel University College of Medicine in August 2022.

The Flora Stone Mather Alumnae Award, for outstanding academic performance in biology.

Winner: Grace Bellino

Outstanding UTA Award (Undergraduate Teaching Assistant)

Winners: Miles LaNicca and Emily Murphy